New Zealand host England for a 2-Test bilateral series beginning Thursday February 16, 2023 with a pink-ball day-night Test at the Bay Oval in beautiful Mount Maunganui. The 2nd Test at Wellington’s renowned Basin Reserve will begin February 24th.

Pacer Tim Southee will continue as captain of the Kiwi side and all-rounder Ben Stokes leads the English in a series that is part of the Future Tour Programs (FTP) but not of the WTC 2021-23.


New Zealand

The 14-member squad for New Zealand includes 5 quick bowlers with Kyle Jamieson, who last played on the Test tour to England last year making a comeback from a back injury. He joins skipper Tim Southee’s pace arsenal of Neil Wagner, Matt Henry and Blair Tickner.

Ish Sodhi retains his place in the squad after a good showing on the recent Pakistan tour along with all-rounder Michael Bracewell, who is the other spin-bowling option.

Both Ajaz Patel and Glenn Phillips who were part of the tour to Pakistan miss out.



England announced a squad flush with players including Harry Brook, Ben Duckett, Olly Stone and Will Jacks who are currently active in the ongoing SA20 joining Captain Stokes and Joe Root who is part of the International League T20 League (ILT20).

Stuart Broad, Matthew Potts and Dan Lawrence have been recalled while pacer Mark Wood, who returned from injury in the recently-concluded Test series against Pakistan takes a break. Teenage legspinner Rehan Ahmed, who picked a fifer on debut in Karachi is not a part of the team and will instead play in the IILT20.



Total – 63 | New Zealand – 12 | England – 51 | Drawn – 0 | Tied – 0

England and New Zealand have been going at it since 1930 but the stats are pretty skewed. Infact, the Kiwis only managed their first win on 15 February 1978 at Wellington.

The last time the teams met was on English soil in 2022 that ended with an English victory on June 27 by 7 wickets in Headingley. England cleanswept the 3-match series 3 – 0 with both the previous games ending in a 5-wicket win.



1st Test – February 16, Thursday – February 20, Monday
01:00 AM GMT/6:30 AM IST @ Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

2nd Test – February 24, Friday – February 28, Tuesday
10:00 PM GMT (February 23)//3:30 AM (February 24) @ Basin Reserve, Wellington



New Zealand: Tim Southee (Captain), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young

England: Ben Stokes (Captain), James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Will Jacks, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Olly Stone