Since impressive performances by both teams in the T20 World Cup in Australia, the first international outing for Ireland and Zimbabwe begins Thursday, January 12, 2023 in a 6 white- ball match tour – 3 T20I and 3 ODIs. The ODI series will be part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

The last International outing for the teams saw Ireland defeating World Champions England by 5 runs (DLS method) and Zimbabwe beating finalists Pakistan by 1 run in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.


Does Zimbabwe have an ace up their sleeve?

Former left-handed top-order England batsman, 33-year-old Gary Balance has been included in Zimbabwe’s T20 squad after signing a two-year deal with Zimbabwe Cricket in December 2022. Ballance played 23 Tests and 16 ODIs for England between 2014 and 2017 returns to the country of his birth following his release from county cricket side Yorkshire.

Sikandar Raza, Blessing Muzarabani, wicketkeeper-batsman Regis Chakabva, and batsman Milton Shumba miss out. Raza has been granted permission to play in the UAE’s ILT20 while fast bowler Muzarabani is recovering from a quadriceps injury. Top-order batsmen Innocent Kaia & Tadiwanashe Marumani, and medium-pacer Victor Nyauchi have been brought in as replacements.

Ireland have big names missing due to franchisee cricket as well – Josh Little and Paul Stirling skip the tour to play in the SA20 and ILT20 respectively. Stirling makes a return to the ODI squad though. But, there’s a shocker of sorts – Ross Adair to the rescue! The former rugby player, who bats right-handed and bowls left-arm spin is the brother of Mark Adair and made his List A debut for Northern Knights in 2021 and gets his full International Ireland call-up for the tour. Wicketkeeper-batsman Stephen Doheny is set to make his full international debut and bowling all-rounder Tyrone Kane makes a comeback to the squad. He last played for Ireland in July 2019.



Total – 9
Zimbabwe – 4
Ireland – 5

Total – 16
Zimbabwe – 7
Ireland – 7
Tie – 1
No result – 1



1st T20I – January 12, Harare Sports Club, Harare
2nd T20I – January 14, Harare Sports Club, Harare
3rd T20I – January 15, Harare Sports Club, Harare
All games at 11am GMT/4:00pm IST

1st ODI – January 18, Harare Sports Club, Harare
2nd ODI – January 21, Harare Sports Club, Harare
3rd ODI – January 23, Harare Sports Club, Harare
All games at 7.15am GMT/12:45pm IST


🏏 Squads


Zimbabwe: Craig Ervine (C), Gary Ballance, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sean Williams

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (C), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Tyrone Kane, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White


Zimbabwe: Yet to be announced

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (C), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Graham Hume, Tyrone Kane, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker