Reigning ODI and T20 World Champions England head to the subcontinent for their rearranged white-ball tour of Bangladesh that includes 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is between March 1st and 14th 2023. The matches were originally scheduled for September and October 2021, but were postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This is England’s first visit to Bangladesh since 2016, when they won the ODI series 2-1.

While the tour is an international bilateral series and part of the Future Tour Programs (FTP), the T20I series will be the first bilateral engagement between the two teams. Bangladesh and England have only faced each other in T20Is once – in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.



Skipper Tamim Iqbal has returned to the ODI squad since last making an appearance more than 6 months ago in an ODI in Harare. Out due to a groin injury, Iqbal made a return to competitive cricket in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) but was rested for his side’s last two fixtures for the England series.

Pacer Taskin Ahmed turned down an offer from Multan Sultans in the ongoing PSL in order to train for the England series and focus on his fitness instead. He sustained an injury on his left leg during the Sylhet phase of the just-concluded BPL, and was later diagnosed with a grade-1 tear.

Uncapped batsman Towhid Hridoy has made the squad based of his performances in the BPL (scored more than 400 runs) while Yasir Ali, Anamul Haque, Nurul Hasan and Nasum Ahmed, who were a part of the ODI squad for the India series, have been dropped on the basis of their form,.Taijul Islam, who has been recalled is a like-for-like replacement for Nasum Ahmed.

ODI Squad

Tamim Iqbal (C), Towhid Hridoy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Litton Das (Wk), Mushfiqur Rahim (Wk), Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Taijul Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman

The T20I squad is yet to be announced.



The English are in a spot of bother. A combination of scheduling conflicts, injuries and franchise commitments sees a mixed squad of established players, fringe talent and new faces. While Jonny Bairstow and Liam Livingstone miss out through injury, Alex Hales has decided to head to the lucrative PSL side Islamabad United instead and so has Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson and Tymal Mills.

18-year-old leg spinner Rehan Ahmed who took 7 wickets on his Test debut in Karachi in December (including a second-innings five-for) is set to make his white-ball debut after being named in both the ODI and T20I squads. Saqib Mahmood has been recalled for the ODIs a year after making his last international appearance. He missed the 2022 home summer due to a lower-back stress fracture. Mark Wood also returns after an extended break at the start of the year.

Middle-order batsman and Somerset Captain Tom Abell who was named in both squads and looked set for an England debut has unfortunately been ruled out before the series after suffering a side injury with the England Lions during their tour of Sri Lanka last week and has been replaced by Will Jacks.



Dawid Malan, James Vince, Jason Roy, Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Rehan Ahmed, Sam Curran, Will Jacks, Jos Buttler (C & Wk), Philip Salt (Wk), Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer


Ben Duckett, Ben Duckett, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Will Jacks, Rehan Ahmed, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Jos Buttler (C & Wk), Philip Salt (Wk), Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, Mark Wood




Total – 21 | Bangladesh – 4 | England – 17


Total – 1 | Bangladesh – 0 | England – 1




1st ODI: Wednesday, 1st March, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka, 08:30 AM GMT / 2:00 PM IST

2nd ODI: Friday, 3rd March, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka, 08:30 AM GMT / 2:00 PM IST

3rd ODI: Monday, 6th March, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram, 08:30 AM GMT / 2:00 PM IST


1st T20I: Thursday, 9th March, Chattogram, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram, 12:00 PM GMT / 5:30 PM IST

2nd T20I: Sunday, 12th March, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka, 12:00 PM GMT / 5:30 PM IST

3rd T20I: Tuesday, 14th March, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka, 12:00 PM GMT / 5:30 PM IST