India in New Zealand – ODI Series

by | Nov 23, 2022 | Preview |

An anticlimactic end to a closely fought T20 leg as India clinched the series after a rain-hit 3rd tie ended in a stalemate. It’s on to the ODIs now with a lot to prove for both teams.

After a washed-out first game, Suryakumar Yadav’s blazing century and Deepak Hooda’s 4-10 helped India to a convincing 65-run win in the 2nd T20I while Mohammed Siraj’s best-ever figures of 4-17 and Arshdeep 4-37 in the 3rd tie will have the team management excited for the ODIs. All four players are expected to play a major role.

New Zealand field a rather similar team for the ODI leg while India sees a change of captain and a relatively inexperienced bowling attack. And, with most of the senior batsmen rested after the T20 world cup, the onus will fall squarely on the experienced shoulders of Captain Shikhar Dhawan to lead from the front. He has played 11 ODIs in New Zealand and has scored 373 runs at an average of 37.30.

The mainstay of Indian batting in ODIs for over a decade now, Dhawan will have a personal point to prove. Though he has been among the runs of late, his scoring rate has come under scrutiny. This calendar year, Dhawan has scored 567 runs but at a rather low strike rate of 74.60.

Also Read: Shikhar Dhawan: ‘Being calm and compassionate allows me to lead well’

India’s ODI captain for the New Zealand tour talks about his approach to leadership and his new role in charge of Punjab Kings.

The tour is crucial not only for the Captain but for the fringe players aiming for a spot in the ODI team in next year’s World Cup as well. But make no mistake. They have their task cut out. The last time the Men in Blue toured New Zealand, they were clean-swept 3-0 in the 50-overs leg.

India will conclude the tour with 3 ODIs to be played from November 25th to 30th.


Played: 105
India: 55
New Zealand: 49
Tied: 1



Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Tom Latham (wk), Matt Henry


Shikhar Dhawan (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik



Nov 25, Fri – 1st ODI, Eden Park, Auckland
Nov 27, Sun – 2nd ODI, Seddon Park, Hamilton
Nov 30, Wed – 3rd ODI, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Closer to the games, we will be announcing our Fantasy Picks. Stay tuned!