India in New Zealand – T20 & ODI Series

by | Oct 21, 2022 | Series Preview |

It’s back to the grind this week for two teams that were among the favourites to lift the T20 World Cup. Here’s what lies ahead in the coming days… 

India and New Zealand flattered to deceive, unceremoniously being dumped at the semifinals stage. 

It’s redemption time and no worthier opponent awaits than each other.

The series includes 3 T20Is and as many ODIs to be played from November 18 to 30. 

What’s at stake? The tour is crucial for Indian players aiming for a spot in the ODI team for next year’s World Cup.

However, the unsuccessful World Cup run sees some drastic changes for India.

Hardik Pandya, the bright spark from the SF loss to England will lead the 16-member squad for the T20Is, with Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul among several players from the current T20 World Cup squad to be rested. 

Rishabh Pant has been named vice-captain for both the T20I and the ODI series. Shikhar Dhawan will captain the ODI squad.

Also, Rahul Dravid, India’s coach, has been given a break and VVS Laxman will coach the Indian team. 

New Zealand on the other hand have kept a studied silence. We await the team announcements.



The first T20 series between the two countries was in 2008/09 and was won by New Zealand. Since then they have played a total of 8 T20 series against each other with India winning 4 and New Zealand, 3.

The head-to-head in ODIs gives the Indians a slight edge:

Played: 105

India: 55

New Zealand: 49

Tied: 1




T20I squad: Hardik Pandya (c), Rishabh Pant (vc), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

ODI squad: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik

New Zealand squads: TBA



Nov 18, Fri – 1st T20I, Sky Stadium, Wellington

Nov 20, Sun – 2nd T20I, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Nov 22, Tue – 3rd T20I, McLean Park, Napier

Nov 25, Fri – 1st ODI, Eden Park, Auckland

Nov 27, Sun – 2nd ODI, Seddon Park, Hamilton

Nov 30, Wed – 3rd ODI, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Closer to the games, we will be announcing our Fantasy Picks. Stay tuned!